New to vending - seeking advice and guidance.

Introduce yourself to the vending and coin operated community
Eustace
Coin Op Group Apprentice
Coin Op Group Apprentice
Area Covered: West Yorkshire
Referred by?: Google

New to vending - seeking advice and guidance.

Post by Eustace »

Hello,

I'm new to vending, and just starting out. First, I want to congratulate you all on this website and Forum - you're doing great work.

Having carried out my own research, read this website, and spoken to a couple of franchisors, so far I've come to the following (tentative) conclusions:-

1. It's best to go independent, though a franchise might help in the beginning as long as you understand their business model and can make a swift exit down the line.

2. Source high value product (lowest cost, longest-lasting).

3. Have the site-owner sign an exclusivity agreement, when and where possible.

4. Try to place 2-3 machines at each site, with a mixture of sweets, savouries and other items (e.g. toys).

5. Actively manage your sites and make improvements, and where necessarily, move to a different site. Use a spreadsheet to monitor performance.

6. Control costs and minimise the time investment by keeping sites as close together as possible.

7. Try to focus on sites that will not insist on a commission payment.

8. Focus on geographic areas that lack market penetration by competitors and use e-mail, leaflet drops, cold visits and social media to raise awareness.

9. Maintain a friendly image and don't burn your bridges with site-owners. Always leave a business card and follow-up, even if the site-owner isn't interested there and then.

10. Take advice from others already in the business and forge business relationships with suppliers and competitors.

I'm new to all this, so please add anything that you think is relevant. The above are the Ten Rules I intend to adopt in this business, but I'm sure it will change as I receive advice and input from members of this forum.