Coin mech question

Got a vending technical question you need answered?
User avatar
pandaanda
Coin Op Group Regular
Coin Op Group Regular
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:57 pm
Area Covered: mansfield
Machines Used: tower
Referred by?: venderbase
Location: Mansfield

Coin mech question

Post by pandaanda »

I've just bought a can vending machine off eBay and the coin mech was delivered separately, I'm confused as the coin mech has three different separate connectors coming from it but I can only see one connector on the machine to plug one of the connectors into ?
Do all three need to be connected or should it work with just one.
Any info appreciated
Pete
User avatar
Snackmore
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:36 pm
Area Covered: Leicestershire
Referred by?: Google search
Location: Leicestershire and North Northamptonshire

Re: Coin mech question

Post by Snackmore »

HI Pete trust you are well?

There are 2 types of protocol for mechanisms/vending machines, exec and MDB. The first has 2 leads 1 big and one smaller white square plugy thing, MDB has just one plug. Normally I think EXEC means the machine is run/controlled by the mech and on MDB the machine tells the mech what to do.

Basically you have been sent the wrong mech and need an MDB one. I have some spares which have been refurbished possibly still under warranty and would be willing to sell you one if interested

Cheers
Steve

Snackmore Vending

Fully managed vending services

Drinks | Snacks | Sweets | Toys | Rides | Washroom

www.snackmore.co.uk 

 

 
User avatar
Snackmore
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:36 pm
Area Covered: Leicestershire
Referred by?: Google search
Location: Leicestershire and North Northamptonshire

Re: Coin mech question

Post by Snackmore »

Ahh just reread your post, if it has 3 leads its dual MDB/EXEC and either will work. Just connect the plag smaller plug to the machine rather than the two white ones. Make sure power is off before you connect though

Cheers
Steve

Snackmore Vending

Fully managed vending services

Drinks | Snacks | Sweets | Toys | Rides | Washroom

www.snackmore.co.uk 

 

 
User avatar
pandaanda
Coin Op Group Regular
Coin Op Group Regular
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:57 pm
Area Covered: mansfield
Machines Used: tower
Referred by?: venderbase
Location: Mansfield

Re: Coin mech question

Post by pandaanda »

Hi Steve
This mech has the small square white plug plus a big black plug plus a small round black plug that looks like you'd put a microphone jack plug into ?
The only socket on the machine is for the big black plug to plug into but when I plug it in it doesn't seem to power up the mech. ?
User avatar
pandaanda
Coin Op Group Regular
Coin Op Group Regular
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:57 pm
Area Covered: mansfield
Machines Used: tower
Referred by?: venderbase
Location: Mansfield

Re: Coin mech question

Post by pandaanda »

image.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Coin Operated Group
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3266
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:41 am
Area Covered: Birmingham, West Midlands
Machines Used: Arcade Machines, Quiz & Big Vendors
Referred by?: myself
Location: Birmingham

Re: Coin mech question

Post by Coin Operated Group »

Thats a jones plug, the headphone type connector is for data transfer
Regards Matt

www.easyvend.com
User avatar
Coin Operated Group
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3266
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:41 am
Area Covered: Birmingham, West Midlands
Machines Used: Arcade Machines, Quiz & Big Vendors
Referred by?: myself
Location: Birmingham

Re: Coin mech question

Post by Coin Operated Group »

Plug in jones plug, turn on and drop coin in. If nothing happens mech is dead.
Regards Matt

www.easyvend.com
User avatar
pandaanda
Coin Op Group Regular
Coin Op Group Regular
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:57 pm
Area Covered: mansfield
Machines Used: tower
Referred by?: venderbase
Location: Mansfield

Re: Coin mech question

Post by pandaanda »

So I only need to plug in the Jones plug ? I tried that and mech seems dead , does the mech get power through the Jones plug then , if so could I check the socket on the machine with a meter to know if it's machine or mech at fault ?
User avatar
Coin Operated Group
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3266
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:41 am
Area Covered: Birmingham, West Midlands
Machines Used: Arcade Machines, Quiz & Big Vendors
Referred by?: myself
Location: Birmingham

Re: Coin mech question

Post by Coin Operated Group »

If you plug in and doesnt work will be mech or fuse gone which is also common but csnt think where fuse is if there is one.
Regards Matt

www.easyvend.com
Darren@coinsolutions
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:26 pm
Referred by?: Internet

Re: Coin mech question

Post by Darren@coinsolutions »

Hi
The coin cos dont have a quick blow fuse like an mei. You should get 110v across pins one and 2. To make sure you have power going to the mech. Also test the payout arms operate with the buttons. The only other option is it may be set to 1pr instead of 4pr or vice versa on switch b on the control board.
Thanks